lil kunj and Nike “Parallel Journeys” Cricket World Cup Campaign

So I’m not one to generally post about advertising campaigns, but there’s a few good ones being knocked out by various brands at the moment. I don’t know whether any of you have seen Nike’s Parallel Journeys campaign? I don’t know about you guys but it’s probably one of the best campaigns I’ve seen from Nike.  Ok, so I may be slightly biased and may have a bit of a soft spot for cricket, India (as it is the motherland for me) and just Nike in general (not that I’m a sporting brand snob or anything, but most of my sports gear is Nike, I do tend to snub Adidas et al in favour of Nike).

The campaign captures young cricket athletes relentless quest for perfection, it doesn’t matter where they are, what they play, whether pro or amateur, you are given an insight into their journey, their training, hard work, dedication and desire to achieve success in the sport. The film’s culminates perfectly with Nike’s “Just do it” slogan.

Personally I think the ad has been beautifully shot in various locations around India; Delhi, Ladakh, Pondicherry, Indore, Jodhpur, Varanasi, Mumbai to name a few places. I feel as though it truly captures the essence of India, the diversity of the different parts of India (which was nice to see, as I think a lot of parts of India are intriguing, but never in the limelight and this is totally not because my parents come from one of those parts!), the varying age groups, religions, the variation in players economic backgrounds, however everyone is bought together by the sport.  Oh, it just makes me want to visit India!

Anyway have a look at the ad for yourselves below.  Also I’ve added a few of my fave snapshots from the ad, it’s mainly of the diverse landscapes and settings that you get in India. Needless to say I don’t own any of the photos.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

